REVIEW: The Body Shop’s Lily Cole Lip and Cheek Dome

15 Jan

After having seen a facebook post from my friend, Madeth Javillo, that the lip and cheek dome are now at 70% off, I stopped by The Body Shop while we were in SM North Edsa. I was a bit upset because the lip and cheek domes are no longer available in the main building. I tried stopping by another TBS branch in The Block, I found that there were only a few left. Of course, hubby treated me again! Thanks!

IMG_0591I got both shades, Crazy for Coral and Pinch me Pink.

Here are some info from The Body Shop:
PRODUCT DESCRIPTION
Cream-to-powder colour for lips and cheeks that’s easy to wear and easy to blend. Wear it just as it is or under lip gloss. They’re limited edition so don’t miss out. Catch them while you can. For lips and cheeks Natural-looking colour Dermatologically tested. Limited edition.
 
 FULL INGREDIENTS
Polyethylene (Opacifier), Caprylyl Methicone (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (Emollient), Talc (Absorbent/Bulking Agent), Propanediol Dicaprylate (Skin Conditioning Agent – Emollient), Polymethyl Methacrylate (Emollient), Isohexadecane (Emollient/Solvent), Ethylhexyl Palmitate (Skin Conditioning Agent), Stearalkonium Hectorite (Viscosity Modifier), Cerotyl Dimethicone (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Cetyl Dimethicone (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Tridecyl Trimellitate (Skin-Conditioning Agent – Occlusive), Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate (Skin Conditioning Agent/Emollient), Propylene Carbonate (Solvent), Mica (Opacifier), Cera Alba/Beeswax/Cire d’abeille (Emulsifier/Emollient), Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil (Skin Conditioning Agent), Tocopheryl Acetate (Antioxidant), Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-t-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate (Antioxidant), Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate (Emollient). [+/- CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide (Colour), CI 45380/Red 22 Lake (Colour), CI 19140/Yellow 5 Lake (Colour), CI 77491/Iron Oxides (Colour), CI 15850/Red 7 Lake (Colour)].
 
HOW TO USE:
Dab onto lips or cheeks straight from the dome. Blend using clean fingertips. Layer to build up colour.
 
ABOUT THE PRODUCT
Star Ingredients: Community Fair Trade beeswax Community Fair Trade marula oil (Our Community Fair Trade marula oil comes from the Eudafano Women’s Co-operative in Namibia. Marula fruits are hand-selected, the nuts are extracted and dried in the sun. The kernels are cold-pressed to release the oil. By setting up their own factory, the 5,000 women members have gained entrepreneurial skills and, they tell us, a newfound self-esteem.)
I love blushes because they easily add color to skin.  Cream blushes are the best to use to give the most natural flush. They don’t come off easily too. I loved using them before but have stayed away from cream blushes for awhile because I can’t seem to master how it is applied. It is so easy to say ‘dab and blend’ but I always get streaks, an obvious sign of a cream blush.
Here I am again, trying out a cream blush (or two!) for my love for makeup. Who can resist the unique, cute packaging and the 70% off to boot? Definitely not me!
Crazy for Coral and Pinch me Pink

Crazy for Coral and Pinch me Pink

This is just so cute. I advise you use a transparent kikay kit so you will be more inspired whenever you get a glimpse of it.

IMG_0619
It comes with a clear cover that you have to carefully handle when opening and closing the product. I am always careful not to get the dome destroyed because of the cover.
IMG_0628
Crazy for Coral is a sheer peach color that gives a subtle color to cheeks. I think this will work well if blended with a bronzer, giving a summer-y look.
IMG_0624
Pinch me Pink is a sheer pink shade that will look good on any skin tone. When blended, it looks so natural. It’s like you’ve just hit the gym. I think it gives off the kind of blush you have when your crush/boyfriend/fiance/husband gave you a very sweet compliment.
IMG_0626
The product weighs 10ml, quite hefty I think. I got these for 268php each.
Here are the swatches:
when blended wellCrazy for Coral (above) and Pinch me Pink (below)

when blended well
Crazy for Coral (above) and Pinch me Pink (below)

It has a creamy texture which can be blended easily. It is not very pigmented but you can add more product until you get the color that you want to achieve. It is fine with me because I’d rather layer more than apply a very pigmented product then trying to erase some of it.

Here’s a summary of my likes and dislikes:

(+) The Body Shop products are l-o-v-e!

(+) very unique and has cute packaging

(+) can fit in any purse and can be easily brought anywhere

(+) easy to apply and blend

(+) cream to powder finish

(+) gives a sheer color to the cheeks

(-) not very pigmented, but you can always add more to get the color that you want.

(-) pricey, but it’s at 70% off now! (Grab ’em while you can!)

(-)limited edition

You can still check out The Body Shop’s branches if you want to get your own! 🙂

Leave a comment