Ellana Lip and Cheek Gel in Ruby | Are you Red-y?!

8 Mar

Ellana Cosmetics is another brand which is proudly Pinoy made. It recently made a comeback, which caters improved and new products. I haven’t tried any of them yet until BDJ Box included one of its bestsellers in the January-February BDJ Box.

The shade I got was Ruby and from the bottle, it looks bloody red with blue undertone. I love the functionality of the packaging. It is a pump plastic bottle which can withstand falls. The pump, on the other hand, has no cover but it locks as you twist it – making it very travel friendly! The drawing / label design looks very sophisticated and feminine! 

Ellana Lip and Cheek Gel in Ruby

Click Continue Reading if this product tickles your fancy.

On first use, I had to pump a few times before the gel comes out. The amount being pumped out is a little hard to control, though. The product comes out as red as it looks like in the bottle. What I do is I rub the product with my two ring fingers (left and right), then apply dots on my lips and cheeks. Simultaneously, I rub my lips together as I massage the gel on my cheeks. I do both the same time because the gel dries up quickly.

Pigmentation is superb! It looks very opaque and can even achieve a sultry red lips. I find it weird that the product stains my cheeks longer than it does my lips. My stained cheek was for almost 8 hours and my stained lips lasted for only about 3 hours. It stains my fingers too! Even if I wash it out with soap and water immediately after application, it still would not rub off.

Ellana Lip and Cheek Gel in RubyEllana Cosmetics are available only in selected outlets, but you can definitely order online! Visit http://ellana.com.ph/ if you want to get to know more about their products.

What I like:

  • Sturdy plastic packaging with sophisticated label
  • Pump bottle is great for hygienic purposes
  • Fragrance free
  • Formulated with Aloe Vera Extracts
  • Opaque and pigmented
  • Mineral makeup
  • Perfect for daily use
  • Looks natural
  • Lasts for 8 hours on cheeks, 3-4 hours on lips 
  • Does not settle on fine lines
  • A little goes a long way
  • Affordable for only ₱220
  • No allergic reactions experienced!
  • Has two shades available
  • Available online

What I don’t like:

  • May stain fingers used for application
  • Available only in limited stores
  • May have a tendency to dry lips

How do I feel about this?

Being organic, this mineral makeup is a thumbs up for me! You can get this for only ₱220, but can last you for almost 6 months already! This did not leave my kikay kit ever since I tried it!

Ellana Lip and Cheek Gel in Ruby

Ellana Lip and Cheek Gel in Ruby

5 Responses to “Ellana Lip and Cheek Gel in Ruby | Are you Red-y?!”

  1. acasualbeauty March 9, 2014 at 2:14 am #

    Looks like a really unique product! Love your rating system 🙂

  2. Madeth April 9, 2014 at 7:16 pm #

    Love this. Used up 3 bottles. hehe. I almost forgot all about it till now, will be on the hunt for this. thanks angel!

    • shengmarasigan April 10, 2014 at 5:10 am #

      Love this too! Can withstand the heat this summer 🙂 Thanks too, angel!

  3. Laarni April 10, 2014 at 8:50 am #

    I discovered Ellana in 2009 when I was starting to have a good relationship with makeup. lolz. I want to revisit this brand soon! You look gorgeous, btw.

    • shengmarasigan April 10, 2014 at 11:07 am #

      Thanks for the complement, dear. Let’s try more Ellana products 🙂

Leave a Reply

