Occupation: MOM 24/7

5 Feb

Looking at my planner, I find that there is no date that I have nothing to do. For each day of every week, there are chores and errands to do – cook, clean, wash, mend, the likes. When you become a mom, you surrender yourself to the fact that you work overtime without pay, everyday including holidays. You will be a mother, manager, nurse, teacher, chef, doctor, friend, playmate, planner, artist.

The tasks never seem to finish and somehow they keep piling up. For example, after homeschooling my daughter, I let her play so she can have a break. I was preparing dinner so I let her do her worksheets that I prepared, too. When everything is set for dinner, I find her surrounded with blocks, dolls, cooking sets and teacup sets. She did her worksheets quickly, but got bored so she played with her toys. Before we get to eat dinner, we tidy up the house a little. The little girl will excuse herself because she will read books or do her puzzles. Hubby and I will get to chitchat a little during dinner. By the time we’re done, the house is a mess again! I tidy up a little by picking the stuff and keeping them together, skipping the vacuum and broom, which will be added to tomorrow’s list of to-dos. I leave it that way so I can have at least 5 hours of sleep.

One day, I saw my little one putting on her bag after filling it with trinkets, carrying her laptop on her right hand and a foldable umbrella on her left, holding her toy cellphone and talking to someone.

I asked her, “What are you doing, sweetie?”

She answered giddily, “I have plenty of things to do. I am dressing up like you, Mom!”

I replied, “Do I dress up like that?”

She told me, “No… But you do everything for us. Thank you, Mom. Thank you for taking care of me and papa and the house.”

“You’re very much welcome, sweetheart.”

I hugged her tight, still unbelieving her thought that she appreciates what I’m doing for them.

No amount of salary can pay as high as my daughter’s love for my 24/7 job. 

Leave a Reply

