REVIEW: Sastid Soap

25 Apr

Just recently I went swimming with my relatives, a birthday celebration of our cousin, Jumela. Though I was religiously applying my current favorite sunblock Nivea Sun Protect and Refresh Invisible Cooling Mist SPF 50, I ended up with a bit of tan and heat rash in my tummy.

The heat rash was gone clean after 5 days of using Sastid Soap.

I was introduced to this little baby when I was pregnant way back 2010.  I had rashes all over my body which were very itchy and I had pruritus all over. I cannot take in medications so anti-pruritic creams were prescribed. Together with the cream, Sastid Soap was also prescribed. Then after undergoing lab tests, I found out that I have gestational diabetes mellitus (GDM). The pruritus I have was a symptom of my GDM.

Sorry for the little history back there…

On now for the review of this soap.

Since my tummy was really itchy after our swimming, I first tried putting on my baby’s human nature sunflower baby oil. It relieved the itch at first but it remains after an hour. I couldn’t bear it anymore so I asked hubby to buy me my trusted sulfur soap, Sastid. But when I was fixing my closet, I found one! I have a stock of this that I totally forgot about. Thankfully, I found it right on time.

317427_10152744226605234_337437974_n

I really love the pink box and the complete information it has. Brand name, generic name, grams, indication, manufacturer and distributor and their addresses, etc. The picture below contains the formulation, direction, indication and precaution.

931348_10152744228100234_711227763_n

I don’t know how it retails now but back then it was sold for 160php. I remember showing a prescription upon buying this but I guess other pharmacies sell this without the prescription. The soap is 100g and is brown with logos of Stiefel and Sastid.

IMG_0044

It has Stiefel on one side and Sastid on the other.
IMG_0043

I am addicted to taking a bath. Most days, I take a bath twice a day. This summer season, I take a bath at least four times a day. I use this like a regular soap  making sure all affected areas of the skin are covered by the lather. I leave it on for a few minutes and then rinse thoroughly with water.

For the first day, the itchiness lessened and the redness on my skin started to ward off. On the third day, the rashes were almost invisible and the itchiness was no longer felt. On the fifth day, my skin is back to normal! YAY!

Though the rashes were gone already, I am still using this. I will probably switch to a regular soap or body wash soon.

 

Its mechanism of action is antifungal/keratolytic and its indicated for the treatment of various skin disorders such as seborrhea, acne and oily skin.

What I love about this:

(+) A product of GSK, a trusted brand

(+) It has a very cute pink packaging with complete information.

(+) It is available in local pharmacies although some may need some prescriptions.

(+) It has a sulfur-y smell and lingers on the skin.

(+) It is also a great body deodorizer. [I don’t use deo when I use this.]

(+) It relieves itchiness after every bath.

(+) It cleans really well and treats the skin immediately.

(+) It works fast! [My tummy has rashes all over and this made it clear again for just 5 days!]

(+) It doesn’t sting my skin but too much use may dry out my skin.

(+) It may be used for the face too!

(+) It lasts for a long time because a little rub gives a good lather.

(+) It has a 3-year shelf life.
What I wish:

(-) It was cheaper. Other sulfur soaps are sold for less than 100php and this one retails for 160php.

 

Overall: This is my go-to product for itchiness/rashes or any skin problems that come my way. I trust this and it really works!  I will definitely repurchase. I have to stock again!

2 Responses to “REVIEW: Sastid Soap”

  1. eddie September 18, 2013 at 12:20 am #

    Sastid Soap discontinued and not available? My Dermatologists recommended Joesoef Skin Care Sulfur Soap 10% for the treatment of Acne, Dermatitis, Tinea Versicolor, Rosacea, Psoriasis, Fungus, Bacteria, Body Acne, Clogged Pores, Blackheads, Whiteheads and blemishes. For best results use WARM water and work soap into a rich lather for face, body and scalp. Be sure to allow 60 seconds before rinsing off Soap. This allows the sulfur to penetrate deep into the pore killing all the bacteria on contact. Price $9 Online joesoefskincare.com or ask you dermatologists.

    • shengmarasigan October 9, 2013 at 11:40 am #

      I saw it last month in Mercury Drug. I am not sure if it was discontinued…

Leave a Reply

