REVIEW: Human Nature Perfect Coverage Mineral Foundation

4 Feb

I fell in love all over again with Human Nature when they released the very first organic makeup foundation last May 2012. I have been using this since they first released it and I still obsessed with it.

I keep the box because it screams femininity, simplicity and elegance. The product and packaging delivers likewise.IMG_0095

IMG_0096

The elegant purple compact is sturdy and sophisticated. I don’t mind toting this with me anywhere I go without the worry of having the powder all over my things. I also noticed that the powder foundation stays intact unlike the previous human nature mineral powder.

IMG_0097

IMG_0654

The sponge applicator, which is soft (not rubbery, like some drugstore makeup brands provide), is housed perfectly on a separate space in the compact. There are holes to let the sponge “breathe”. I only use the sponge when I am out and needed to do some touch ups. Oftentimes at home, I use a kabuki brush to buff the foundation on my face to give the sheerest coverage.

IMG_0094

There are 4 shades available to suit Filipina skin. Take your pick from Vanilla (light), Honey (fair), Caramel (medium) and Toffee (morena).

I got the shade Honey. At first, I thought my shade was Vanilla since I have been using the lightest shade, Orient Pearl, in the mineral pressed powder but when I swatched it, it was way too light for me. I give it to Human Nature for concocting the perfect shades that match Filipina skin tone well.

Human Nature 100% Natural Perfect Coverage Mineral Foundation is unlike other mineral makeups in the market. This is the first mineral foundation to be pressed. Other mineral makeups are in powder form which can be a little messy to handle, especially when  you tote it around with you. 

I was worried then that I had to spend 475php to get a new one, but then Human Nature offered powder refills! I guess the demand was great that they had to come up with refills. Powder refills are a huge bonus since you save money and you don’t end up wasting packaging. They also provided a new sponge along with the refill.

What I love most is that whenever I use the compact, I always receive a “Hey Gorgeous!” greeting! Who wouldn’t love to be called “gorgeous”?!

IMG_0658

This is a great everyday foundation that looks so natural, hides imperfections, conceals blemishes and evens out skin tone. Not to mention it stays on for 5 hours straight! No touch-ups at all! It gives light coverage when applied with a brush, medium coverage when applied with a sponge. Coverage is also variable depending on the layer you put on. At times, I also use it to set my tinted moisturizer or bb cream and it makes the effect more matte and the makeup last longer.

This product is also affordable, given that it is a mineral makeup. Most mineral makeups in the market are expensive and is not totally talc-free and toxin-free. It is suitable for all skin types, even those with sensitive skin can use this. I for one have oily-sensitive type of skin but this did not break me out at all. It also makes me proud that this product is made here in the Philippines.

There is only one problem with this, it somehow melts and cakes on me. I guess it cannot stand well with the humidity of our country. I just blot with a single ply tissue paper and I’m good again.

What I love about this:

(+) It is a product of Human Nature (I just love HHN!)

(+) It has 4 Filipina shades to choose from (swatch them first to prevent choosing the wrong shade if you’r going to shop online)

(+) It hides imperfections, conceals blemishes and evens out skin tone

(+) It looks so natural on me

(+) I had no breakouts with this!!!

(+) It is long wearing.

(+) The packaging is so lovely and there’s a “Hey Gorgeous!” greet every usage!

What I don’t love:

(-) It has no SPF.

(-) It sometimes melts and cakes especially when it’s humid.

(-) It may be a bit pricey for some but I think it is priced fair for me.

Overall: I am satisfied and I highly recommend this product!
Leave a Reply

